Segregation via personal opinions never did anybody any good. Typically, I find, agreeing to disagree gets the job done.
Here's the Thing:
When it comes to politics, you cannot merely agree to disagree because the ultimate result will certainly impact your personal future (which will then certainly impact the futures of those closest to you in one way or another). So I feel like this is where you kind of have to care. That is, unless you sincerely do not give "any shits" about your life/future/those around you. Which is, ironically, the outlook it feels like a lot of people who vote subscribe to.
(ba-dum-tshh)
I feel as though I am not well versed enough in current events / politics to really weigh in on anything. Then again I certainly do not know much at all on the topics of taxes, weather or time travel, all of which I have covered in previous blogs. So, like I was saying...
MY OPINIONS on health care and education tend to fall under more of a conservative view: I think that they should be a provided option; I don't think that they should be free. And not that they just shouldn't be free in a miserable, mothball-ridden-geezer, "tain't nuthin fer free" kind of way. More of a "let's be realistic" kind of way. I mean, there really tain't anything for free, but not specifically to interrupt peoples' joy and happiness, not just so they "don't get it too good". Some things are the way they are simply because they are. I am completely open to alternative thinking, although I will admit, I will always apply logic and reality to it. Would it be nice to not have to worry about money? Of course. Would it work to just throw the idea of paying for the things that we - as a society - deem important (even necessary)? I truly do not believe so. So might I suggest: if you do not want to worry about money, save more, spend less.
It would also be nice to let everyone have whatever groceries they want for free (so we know that everyone is nourished). But the reality of that is that it would turn sour. (And fast!) For starters, giving some people what they want only makes them want more; the novelty would run out quickly. Also, what is "nourished"? What is healthy food? Also, are we only giving people certain foods for free? Well that's not fair to people who have an allergy/sensitivity. We'll just save those safe foods for the people with said allergy/sensitivity? Well that's not fair for the people who really like that safe food, but just get whatever because their stomachs just happen to be able to handle a larger majority of foods.
Then we've got the sly bartering to take into consideration; much like what I have heard / am to understand happens with food stamps. In other words: without food being money-dependent, people are likely to turn to food to replace money. Kind of like a regression into the colonial times. "I will give you this [animal] in exchange for this [service]." So call it what you want: currency doesn't have to be in the form of money, we will (as a society) evolve it into whatever we deem necessary at the time. There will always be something to blame, something to hold over another's head, something to express status. If need be, we will resort to being envious of whoever is wearing the biggest hat with the most twigs.
I think that does have a lot to do with it: I think that people concern themselves with certain topics when they concern themselves with how much money another is making, in comparison to what they are making for themselves. Perhaps not so much this specific topic, but more like the thing where people want millionaires / billionaires / whoever the f&#$ to be "super-taxed" simply BECAUSE the aforementioned aire's have MADE MORE MONEY for themselves. That is the craziest thing to me. It's none of my business what someone else is making. Also, that person made that money because they have a skill / set of skills that I do not have OR they were given an opportunity that I was not given. I can think of plenty that I have been given that others have not (and so on). Does that mean that I should be punished? Some things are not my fault, some things cannot be helped, some things should not be made a reason to punish someone. Not to mention I can think of plenty of opportunity that I have not been presented with; opportunity I have watched fall at others' feet. To be clear: this is not others' fault. I think we should all be taxed the same percentage (of what we make/however I word this). Sometimes it feels like everyone is so greedy and everyone wants so much and everyone wants more. And more money.
And how about those people who weren't given the opportunity to go to college when they were younger - and could have used it? It's not fair to forgive school loans now that they are much too old to appreciate it / take advantage of it. There will always be something unfair. Always someone who suffers. I don't love it. But I bring this up because many of the opposing thoughts and arguments (whenever I try to have a conversation like this with certain individuals who appear to be further on the side of Liberalism) try to emphasize their point by fighting for what's "fair". Which is, first of all, subjective when you get down to it, and it could always be argued that a point / philosophy is not fair to someone.
For example: this subject of free healthcare. It seems as though those who have been ever-vigilant about keeping in "ship-shape", trying their best and working their hardest every single day, with every single decision, would be made to be a punchline of sorts. Oh, that's very nice how you've been living well, exercising and staying within the realm of a balanced diet all these years, Ralph, but healthcare is free now, so... turns out you could have had whatever you wanted to eat. Joke's on you! Not only that, but once it is free, what motivation would one have for taking care of one's self, then? It appears we are in need of better motivation as is. And what of the doctors now? The ones who have what I would consider one of the worst jobs ever? Having to deal with so many people with much higher, more intense needs than I have ever had to be responsible for in my professional life. Having to be in such close quarters with those who they are well aware are sick, sometimes deathly ill. Being blamed for everything when it goes wrong. Hardly being thanked in the alternate. Shitty hours, no personal life, taking your work home with you (in a gravity most of us will never know)... Would you want that job? I don't want it as is, and if we were to accomplish this movement of making healthcare free to everyone, these doctors would have to inevitably be paid significantly less! Jesus! And if not, where will all of this (UNIMAGINABLY LARGE AMOUNT OF) money come from? I don't know what to tell you, folks, sometimes things cost money.
And what about these people who vote for themselves? That is, for literally only their own, personal gain? "I don't wanna pay this medical bill... maybe a politician will. Who cares if it's not what's best for LITERALLY anyone." "Well I want my school loan to be forgiven, so instead of paying it off and making it a priority, I guess I'll just wait for this bill to pass or some such so I can just forget it ever happened." Remember when only men could vote and women were all "Gee it'd be nice to vote. That way my voice can be heard." Well now it can. And now that it can, now that everyone can vote, wouldn't it be nice if we just tried to think of what was best for all of us? The all? The whole? The Nation?
In my opinion, education and healthcare are no more a basic human right than a cab ride.
No comments:
Post a Comment